icon-cookie
The website uses cookies to optimize your user experience. Using this website grants us the permission to collect certain information essential to the provision of our services to you, but you may change the cookie settings within your browser any time you wish. Learn more
I agree
blank_error__heading
blank_error__body
Text direction?

A supermoon and total lunar eclipse will coincide for the first time in 152 years — Quartz

Measure
Measure
Related Notes
Get a free MyMarkup account to save this article and view it later on any device.
Create account

End User License Agreement

Summary | 6 Annotations
On the night of Jan. 31, it doesn’t matter what you’re doing—you owe it to yourself to gaze at the sky.
2018/01/29 09:43
a total lunar eclipse
2018/01/29 09:43
The celestial coincidence hasn’t happened in more than 150 years.
2018/01/29 09:43
Visible supermoons appear 14% bigger and 30% brighter than full moons that occur at the farthest point in the moon’s orbit.
2018/01/29 09:44
For the real highlight of the show, the lunar eclipse will begin at 6:48am ET (11:48am UTC) and reach its maximum at 8:30am ET (1:30pm UTC).
2018/01/29 09:44
Viewers from eastern Asia, the Pacific, and western North America will get the best view
2018/01/29 09:44